SOLVED! Everything looks ok but no sound

Discuss Yocto construction and related issues

SOLVED! Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby rv0 » Sep 21st, '14, 15:42

finished my built yesterday, everything seemed fine, but i tested and got no sound (flatcables and audio cable are installed of course)

today i measured all voltages, everything is ok, everywhere (op amps)
i also tuned TM1 and TM2 with scope.
i checked the trigger outs of IC5 and IC9, i get a trig on each active sep, so that is ok too.
yet still, no sound, not from main out, not from ind. out, also check with scope


any clues?


edit: solved.. it seems..update fw and removed some excess solder from a pot that may have been touching/shorting gnd.
Last edited by rv0 on May 17th, '15, 13:30, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby Dr.Knob » Sep 21st, '14, 18:19

It's strange! It does not work either in expander?
Dr.Knob
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Jan 19th, '14, 15:05

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby rv0 » Sep 21st, '14, 21:06

Dr.Knob wrote:It's strange! It does not work either in expander?

strange indeed.

expander mode, same thing, i check pin 1 of IC5 and i do get the triggers on scope, but again, no sound
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby gihaume » Sep 22nd, '14, 00:08

Are the cables linking the 2 PCB in good condition? I had some of them broken after turning again and again the PCBs.
gihaume
 
Posts: 246
Joined: May 12th, '14, 14:48

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby rv0 » Sep 22nd, '14, 08:19

gihaume wrote:Are the cables linking the 2 PCB in good condition? I had some of them broken after turning again and again the PCBs.


Sure, I only soldered the cables between 2 PCB in the last step, so they are in perfect condition.
I checked with a (soundcard) probe on R175 lead (BD OUT) and I don't seem to get anything. I'm using GND point on the ICSP footprint in all my measurements btw.
I must have made some global mistake in all voices .. I don't get it .. Will fully debug the BD tonight and hopefully that will give some clues.

Thanks for the help so far!
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby Dr.Knob » Sep 22nd, '14, 15:38

yes that's exactly what we need to do, first try to debeug the bass drum, then after the other instuments. One by one and with separate outputs, as the master module is not essential for the firsts tests. Although the master unit does not work in theory , you can still try each instrument separately.
Check your power supply too.
Dr.Knob
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Jan 19th, '14, 15:05

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby rv0 » Sep 22nd, '14, 22:53

A friend of mine pointed out to me that the problem may originate in the accent section, due to the way the accent influences the triggers. And it looks like he's right!
I first replaced the 4011 as I read there's problems with some of them, and replaced it with a CD4011BCN.
That did not fix the problem.

Then, by mere accident I slipped my audio probe against R101, and yes, the yocto starts playing his pattern.

So whenever I touch R101 with probe I hear the (lovely) sounds.. I think the solution is near, but I'm too stupid to find it. I reflowed all nearby components.
Any more suggestions?
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby Dr.Knob » Sep 23rd, '14, 18:49

If you sequence a bass drum and that there isn't enough voltage on any side of R155, so that means say that the accent unit is faulty.
Dr.Knob
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Jan 19th, '14, 15:05

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby rv0 » Sep 23rd, '14, 21:10

R151 was burned (see r 151 accent resistor burns) .. replaced it now. but still not working.
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Everything looks ok but no sound

Postby Snoozr » Sep 23rd, '14, 22:41

Maybe check Gnd continuity all the way through to just before the power socket? I think I saw in another thread that Vincent said grounding was an explanation for no sound throughout. It's funny that your multimeter probe makes things work.
Snoozr
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Jan 17th, '14, 21:20

Next

Return to Yocto v1.0 Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests