[SOLVED] Date Encoder is not precise, please fix!

[SOLVED] Date Encoder is not precise, please fix!

Postby KlangGenerator » Mar 19th, '18, 13:25

When turning the data encoder the values change in steps of 2, 3 or even more. This makes it impossible to select values like BPM exactly. I already tried this method:http://www.bourns.com/docs/technical-documents/technical-library/sensors-controls/technical-notes/Bourns_enc_sgnl_cond_technote.pdf?sfvrsn=4 but no change.

Vincent, could you please fix this with a software update?
Last edited by KlangGenerator on Mar 19th, '18, 21:52, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
KlangGenerator
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Aug 8th, '16, 16:36

Re: Date Encoder is not precise, please fix!

Postby KlangGenerator » Mar 19th, '18, 21:52

KlangGenerator wrote:When turning the data encoder the values change in steps of 2, 3 or even more. This makes it impossible to select values like BPM exactly. I already tried this method:http://www.bourns.com/docs/technical-documents/technical-library/sensors-controls/technical-notes/Bourns_enc_sgnl_cond_technote.pdf?sfvrsn=4 but no change.

Vincent, could you please fix this with a software update?


Solved! For anyone building a Yocto 2 I recommend to delete the encoder that is in the BOM and add this one here:

https://www.mouser.de/ProductDetail/Bourns/PEC16-4020F-S0024/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMsWp46O%252bq11WcGoMlc56u%2F2dy04HLRPgvI%3D

The difference is that the one I recommend is non-detented. This is making precise adjustments much easier!
User avatar
KlangGenerator
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Aug 8th, '16, 16:36

Re: [SOLVED] Date Encoder is not precise, please fix!

Postby Rumpel » Sep 8th, '19, 09:16

At first, I also thought it's up to that.
But the inputs of the Atmega seem to be able to filter bouncing and noise.

KlangGenerator wrote:Date Encoder is not precise, please fix!
too precise

KlangGenerator wrote:When turning the data encoder the values change in steps of 2, 3 or even more.
When turning the data encoder slowly the values change in steps of 1. But 4 times per detent.
Exactly 4. Which indicates that the software counts every change of potential (4 per step), where it should count only one.

This software problem needs to be fixed with the next update.

Just finished a NAVA. The values change in steps of 1 per detent.
User avatar
Rumpel
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 1st, '19, 08:20


Return to Yocto² Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest