Flimsy data encoder?

Discuss Nava construction and related issues

Flimsy data encoder?

Postby drifter7508 » Aug 23rd, '16, 08:00

My data encoder is very flimsy, jumping up and down in value when turned making it hard to get exact BPM. Not a "precision tool". Also under the Shuffle settings it flips up and down when turned.
Is it just mine?
drifter7508
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Apr 19th, '16, 13:35

Re: Flimsy data encoder?

Postby Check Mate » Aug 23rd, '16, 08:54

No mine is jumping too. I have a hard time to dial in the total accent. Sometimes it just goes up but not down anymore.
User avatar
Check Mate
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Jan 7th, '14, 18:36

Re: Flimsy data encoder?

Postby ElSchtroumpf » Aug 23rd, '16, 17:47

Any suggestions for a better option?
ElSchtroumpf
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Jan 11th, '14, 11:12

Re: Flimsy data encoder?

Postby drifter7508 » Aug 23rd, '16, 19:11

I heard this is probably because of a "software solution only" debouncing it...making it flimsy.
drifter7508
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Apr 19th, '16, 13:35

Re: Flimsy data encoder?

Postby beeb » Aug 24th, '16, 08:08

Same with my encoder, it's not that bad but definitely goes the wrong way on some occasions
beeb
 
Posts: 96
Joined: May 18th, '16, 20:15

Re: Flimsy data encoder?

Postby Kazper » Aug 26th, '16, 16:24

Often people use a pair of small film or ceramic caps Between the encoder terminals to filter the true pulses and disregard any noise. Values under 1nF are prefered.


Here is a link to it on a synth.
http://synth.stromeko.net/DIY.html
Kazper
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Feb 20th, '16, 20:06

Re: Flimsy data encoder?

Postby drifter7508 » Aug 26th, '16, 17:41

Clever! :-) Somebody should give it a try on the Nava.
drifter7508
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Apr 19th, '16, 13:35

Re: Flimsy data encoder?

Postby jeroenbvo » Sep 16th, '17, 16:57

And somebody did! :mrgreen:

I had the same issues but now, no more jumping back and forth!

Actually Bourns are mentioning this in their technical documents: http://www.bourns.com/docs/technical-documents/technical-library/sensors-controls/technical-notes/Bourns_enc_sgnl_cond_technote.pdf?sfvrsn=4

As I had a bunch of 1000pF left over, I soldered 2 of them "Manhattan style" to the encoder pins. Common ground.
I did not add the two 10K resistors as per above. Anyway R692 and R693 are already part of the circuit as well. It works perfect without the other two.

Image
User avatar
jeroenbvo
 
Posts: 130
Joined: May 6th, '14, 15:58


Return to Nava Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests