Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Discuss mods, hacks, tweaks, etc.

Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby mymaracas » Jan 31st, '17, 15:59

Hello everyone,

I need to replace the BA6110 with a BA662, can't really find the pinout anywhere though.

All i could find was this:
1 CV1
2 -IN1
3 +IN1
4 Not labeled but appears to be CV2 *EDIT: According to the original 808 schematic this seems to be the Input Bias? See below*
5 -V
6 OUT1
7 IN2
8 OUT2
9 +V

from here: http://analogue-heaven.1065350.n5.nabbl ... 48876.html

Can anyone confirm this?

Thanks
Last edited by mymaracas on Feb 3rd, '17, 00:19, edited 3 times in total.
mymaracas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: May 19th, '16, 14:08

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby Altitude » Jan 31st, '17, 21:41

BA662 is not a drop in replacement for BA110
User avatar
Altitude
 
Posts: 147
Joined: May 28th, '15, 13:01

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby mymaracas » Feb 1st, '17, 16:25

Sorry, do you mean it's not a drop in replacement because the pinout is different or because it can't be used in exchange? I wired it up as in the original post, and it seems to work, however the noisefloor is really high...
mymaracas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: May 19th, '16, 14:08

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby mymaracas » Feb 1st, '17, 17:25

just saw this thread: http://mutable-instruments.net/forum/di ... nd-sh-2/p1

if the 6110 needs extra circuitry to behave like a 662, would i be right in assuming this is present in the yocto, and if so, could this circuitry be bypassed in order to be able to use the 662 in place of the 6110?
mymaracas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: May 19th, '16, 14:08

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby antto » Feb 1st, '17, 17:31

the two have some differences
i don't understand, and i haven't looked into it

the x0xb0x for example has the option to use either one of them, but the circuit has been designed with that in mind, you can check it out in the schematic in the VCA section
normally the x0xb0x comes with BA6110 because it's less rare, and you put it on one slot, with 4 additional transistors
alternatively, if you use BA662 in the x0xb0x, you put it on the other slot, and don't put those 4 transistors

so there certainly is a difference and you may need to adapt it if the circuit wasn't meant for it

is there any reason you want to put BA662 in your yocto?
User avatar
antto
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Apr 20th, '16, 17:43
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby mymaracas » Feb 2nd, '17, 12:19

ah thats great to hear, thanks for the tip antto.

the person i built it for said the clap sound wasn't quite right, and wanted to try with the 662. I was doing some of the other mods so said I'd do it at the same time.
mymaracas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: May 19th, '16, 14:08

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby mymaracas » Feb 2nd, '17, 23:14

So I had a look at the original schematics and they ARE almost identical to the Yocto, however there are a few small discrepencies:
- R334 is 100k in the 808, and 150k in the Yocto
- R200' doesn't seem to exist.
And finally the one which seems to have been causing all the problems:
- The BA6110s Input bias (3rd pin) doesn't seem to be grounded in the Yocto schematic (infact it doesn't seems to be unconnected in my files), however in the 808 schematic the BA662's 4th pin (appears to be the input bias from this schematic) IS grounded. So I grounded the 4th pin of the BA662 and voila! Seems to be runnning perfectly!


Here's the 808 schematic file I used:
Image
mymaracas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: May 19th, '16, 14:08

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby BedroomMusic » Feb 4th, '17, 16:01

BedroomMusic
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Jan 7th, '16, 22:26
Location: Poland Katowice/Sosnowiec

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby rv0 » Feb 6th, '17, 13:50

BedroomMusic wrote:https://shop.re-303.com/product/ba662-clone/


that clone is an estimation. might not work for every use of the ba662.
its "fine" in a x0xb0x/303 clone, but not sure about the yocto.
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Replacing the BA6110 with a BA662

Postby mymaracas » Feb 9th, '17, 15:46

rv0 wrote:
BedroomMusic wrote:https://shop.re-303.com/product/ba662-clone/


that clone is an estimation. might not work for every use of the ba662.
its "fine" in a x0xb0x/303 clone, but not sure about the yocto.


that is the chip i used, i don't have a ba662 to check unfortunately. if i do come across one, i will try it and post an update
mymaracas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: May 19th, '16, 14:08


Return to Yocto v1.0 Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron