Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Discuss use it and firmware update

Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby Oortone » Nov 20th, '17, 19:12

I realize the Yocto V2 is more advanced but will a limited version of V2 be available on V1? I'm guessing some issues with V1 will be fixed for V2 so maybe by removing V2 hardware specific stuff it could work on V1 hardware?

Just curious.
Oortone
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 27th, '16, 09:01

Re: Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby antto » Dec 3rd, '17, 10:08

i wouldn't count on that :|
User avatar
antto
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Apr 20th, '16, 17:43
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby gihaume » Dec 3rd, '17, 10:42

What is a v2 on v1 ?
gihaume
 
Posts: 245
Joined: May 12th, '14, 14:48

Re: Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby antto » Dec 3rd, '17, 22:36

he probably means the yocto V2 firmware, on the yocto V1 hardware
User avatar
antto
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Apr 20th, '16, 17:43
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby Oortone » Dec 4th, '17, 15:55

Yes, that kind of what I meant. Of course since the hardware is different it can't be the same firmware but I was thinking about general improvements that are common to both.
Oortone
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 27th, '16, 09:01

Re: Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby antto » Dec 4th, '17, 16:53

as a "developer", i know how an abandoned project looks like
and yocto v1 looks like that to me

in that case, it's up to the community to pick it up
we (me and one or two other guys) tried to gather interest for a complete firmware rewrite, but it gathered dust
now some other developers popped up, but they went for modifying the existing firmware (which IMO is a waste of time)
User avatar
antto
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Apr 20th, '16, 17:43
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby Acetate » Dec 4th, '17, 17:28

I would call Yocto V1 deprecated, not abandoned. Abandoned would indicate that there was no further development, but we already have a V2, so further development has happened. Maintenance is expensive. Frequently older versions are deprecated from support to focus energy and resources on new development.
Acetate
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Oct 20th, '17, 15:20

Re: Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby Oortone » Dec 4th, '17, 21:16

I kind of thought development had halted that way. I've just built my Yocto v1 so I'm pretty happy as it is right now, just curious. All the 808-stuff seems fine to me. I can live without tap-write. The A/B programming mode is kind of implemented which makes me very happy. I always used that when I had an 808. But I understand there are some issues with "roll" and trig2. Not a big deal.

I guess the v2 is too different to just put that OS in v1 since it needs a display.

Anyway, I built my Yocto to get as close to an 808 as I could so I'm glad I got a v1. I really don't want to see a display or a PC2 on an 808. That's just wrong to me. :mrgreen:
Oortone
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 27th, '16, 09:01

Re: Will Yocto v2 be available on v1?

Postby tapWrite » Nov 20th, '18, 10:34

need me some tap write... possible to load firmware on v1? did we ever work this one out?
tapWrite
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 20th, '18, 10:24


Return to Yocto v1.0 Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron