Expander doesn't trigger = ( [SOLVED]

Discuss Yocto construction and related issues

Expander doesn't trigger = ( [SOLVED]

Postby Croodey » Jan 21st, '18, 19:38

Hi,
I have a problem with a yocto if it is in expander mode.
All other functions works perfect.

If i send a note (maybe c2), the LED (mute) is blinking one times every times it got a signal.
If i use it on a midi keyboard, it is also blinking one times if i push the key, but it also blinks one time again if i take my finger from the key.

So,... There comes the midi information to the cpu, and it comes out from it on the pin 29 for the LED. I compared ut with an other yocto and see, the trigger signal is shorter fir the half as on the perfect runing yocto.

The instruments are not to hear,... Maybe they are not triggered.

Have anybody an idea? Thx!
Last edited by Croodey on Jan 27th, '18, 18:13, edited 1 time in total.
Croodey
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 15th, '16, 17:22

Re: Expander doesn't trigger = (

Postby helectromagneticus » Jan 21st, '18, 19:42

Are you using the official Yocto firmware or the more recent unofficial firmware? Forum user jvq made some enhancements to the expander mode that are available in the unofficial firmware - these may help you with your problem.
User avatar
helectromagneticus
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Oct 26th, '16, 02:55

Re: Expander doesn't trigger = (

Postby Croodey » Jan 22nd, '18, 04:51

I change between the official firmware C and the unofficial E.
Both have the same results on the exoandermode.
Croodey
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 15th, '16, 17:22

Re: Expander doesn't trigger = (

Postby helectromagneticus » Jan 23rd, '18, 07:44

Does MIDI slave mode work? Is your Yocto sending MIDI clock and stuff out?

I'm asking these questions to determine if the MIDI port is the problem, or if something else is wrong. It's unlikely that there is a software problem, since others are using the firmware versions you listed (unofficial version F is available, by the way!).
User avatar
helectromagneticus
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Oct 26th, '16, 02:55

Re: Expander doesn't trigger = (

Postby Croodey » Jan 25th, '18, 20:21

I have changed the 16MHz crystal. And now the Midi/Slave works well with the Firmware E too.

The midithrue also works - but was also works without the working midi/slave.

The expander doesn't work, but it also doesn't work with older firmwares. But since the criystal is changed, the LED (mute) is only blinking for one time each incoming signal.

Now i have changed all ic's in the digital section and tested the cpu in one of my working yoctos.
But there was nothing damaged.
Croodey
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 15th, '16, 17:22

Re: Expander doesn't trigger = (

Postby Croodey » Jan 25th, '18, 20:27

I'm sure, it isn't a problem with the Software. Because i have one yocto also with "E" and it works great.

But the last two i was buildet have the same problem and I can't find it :(
Croodey
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 15th, '16, 17:22

Re: Expander doesn't trigger = (

Postby Croodey » Jan 26th, '18, 19:49

BD
ic U12 pin 2 and 3 got the trigger signal if i trigger it with my midi keyboard.
pin7 shows me a nice bd wave

ACCENT

ic6 shows also the right signals on all pins in use with the midikeyboard.



all of the tests are synchron with my complete working yocto.

i dont understand, how it could be. all funktions working well and sounds great. only the damn expander don´t let me hear the instruments :/
Croodey
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 15th, '16, 17:22

Re: Expander doesn't trigger = ( [SOLVED]

Postby Croodey » Jan 27th, '18, 18:16

Fixed!!!!

The problem was a wrong resistor on r112.

I placed a 33k and a 3,3k should be. ;)

Thx! ;)
Croodey
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 15th, '16, 17:22


Return to Yocto v1.0 Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests