Static Charge when touched

Discuss Yocto construction and related issues

Static Charge when touched

Postby sharivari » Sep 12th, '17, 22:14

Hi Everyone,

I have a Yocto 1.0 with the metal case from Erica Synths, with external 15v PSA.

The unit works great, there is no hum on the outputs, but there is one issue:

When I touch anywhere on the unit it crackles as if the whole thing is static charged. Is this the same ground problem? Could it be a bad 15v adapter? (I tried it plugged into different outlets already)

Looking forward to anyone's thoughts or advice...

thanks
sharivari
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Nov 11th, '15, 17:01

Re: Static Charge when touched

Postby rv0 » Sep 13th, '17, 11:05

crackling is weird,... can you make a video or audio recording?
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Static Charge when touched

Postby sharivari » Sep 13th, '17, 23:52

Thanks for your reply - the whole thing is static charged, when I touch it anywhere it crackles. I'll make an audio clip shortly...
sharivari
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Nov 11th, '15, 17:01

Re: Static Charge when touched

Postby sharivari » Sep 14th, '17, 02:11

sharivari
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Nov 11th, '15, 17:01

Re: Static Charge when touched

Postby rv0 » Sep 14th, '17, 07:26

This track was not found. Maybe it has been removed — Learn more
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Static Charge when touched

Postby sharivari » Sep 14th, '17, 11:24

sorry it was set to private - please try it again
sharivari
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Nov 11th, '15, 17:01

Re: Static Charge when touched

Postby rv0 » Oct 13th, '17, 10:46

private tracks can be shared, but you need to click the share button and copy the link
User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Feb 11th, '14, 09:09

Re: Static Charge when touched

Postby helectromagneticus » Oct 15th, '17, 01:53

Soundcloud is giving a "This track was not found" error when I click your link, sharivari.

My guess is that your Yocto's chassis is not well bonded to your Yocto's power supply ground. With a multimeter, try measuring the resistance between the board ground and one of the mounting screws. On my unit, which does not "crackle," the resistance is about 1Ohm between these two nodes. If that measurement looks good, try measuring the resistance between the chassis itself and the power supply ground. You may have to scratch off a little piece of the paint on the inside of the chassis to get a good electrical connection.

Hopefully this will help you resolve your problem.
User avatar
helectromagneticus
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Oct 26th, '16, 02:55


Return to Yocto v1.0 Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests